So this is a little late in posting, but I've been trying to get stuff done.
So last Friday, we stumbled across the posting for the Software Engineer position that recently opened up in our unit. It had all of the normal stuff in it. The interesting/frustrating part was the fact that they were looking for 1 year of development experience, 1 year with .Net and offering $64k minimum. (If you want to apply, here's the link @ Higher Ed Jobs)
Anyway, I thought that was a little high, but apparently that's the number that HR came back with after their research. NICE!
However, most of us here have been here longer than a year (not to mention more previous experience) and we make that or less. Now I know that we were never paid what the private market dictates, but don't insult me by hiring someone with less experience for more money.
I know that if this were the private sector no one would even know. But it's not and I do. Talk about a slap in the face. If you think I'm not doing my job, then just fire me, don't insult me.
We did find out that our director is trying to get us equity adjustments based on this. After the many times we've been screwed before, I hope that this time I'm pleasantly surprised. Cross your fingers!
I'll keep you posted on the saga.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment